Rail Madad Helpline: The new helpline number ‘139’ will take over all existing helpline numbers

Indian Railways has integrated all railway helplines into a single number ‘139’, which is now the main ‘Rail Madad’ Helpline, for quick grievance redressal and enquiry mechanism during train journeys for passengers. According to a statement shared by the Railway Ministry, the new helpline number ‘139’ will take over all the existing helpline numbers, so that the process becomes easier for passengers to connect with railway authorities, in order to address needs or enquiries during the travel. Several grievances helpline numbers were discontinued by railway authorities last year. (Also Read: Indian Railways Freight Loading Up 10% To 112 Million Tonnes In February )

The integrated Rail Madad Helpline ‘139’ will be available in a total of twelve languages. Additionally, Indian Railway passengers can also opt for the IVRS (Interactive Voice Response System), or can directly connect to the call-centre executive by pressing the * (asterisk) symbol. The integrated service is technologically friendly and accessible as passengers do not need to use a smartphone in order to connect with the Rail Madad helpline ‘139’. According to the Railway Ministry’s statement, the menu of the ‘139’ Helpline (IVRS) is as follows:

  • Passengers have to press 1 for security and medical assistance, which connects immediately to a call center executive.
  • Passengers have to press 2 for general enquiry and in the submenu, all the information regarding PNR status, arrival or departure of the train, ticket booking, accommodation, system ticket cancellation, fare enquiry, wake up alarm facility or destination alert, meal booking, or wheel chair booking, can be obtained.
  • Paseengers have to press 4 for general complaints
  • Passengers have to press 5 for vigilance related complaints
  • Passengers have to press 6 for parcel and goods related queries
  • Passengers have to press 7 for IRCTC operated trains queries
  • Passengers have to press 9 for the status of complaints
  • Passengers have to press *( asterisk) for talking to a call centre executive

Indian Railways authorities also launched a social media campaign #OneRailOneHelpline139 for informing passengers.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here